Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 16th, 2011


It has been far too long since my last post. But I have a good excuse, which I shall briefly explain.

Around about May last year my wife Amy got a work opportunity in Atlanta, GA. Which she took. Because it paid well, and, well because we had already decided that Mississippi was not going to ever be a central hub of career opportunities for us.

So off Amy went to Atlanta, leaving me in charge of the chickens and the goats.

Fast forward to the beginning of March 2011, and I am finally in Atlanta too. Which is sort of ironic since I have been working for an Atlanta company, NASCO, as a contractor, and now an associate, for over 4 years.

So now I have the great pleasure (!) of a daily commute for the first time in a decade. But I also have the opportunity to network with the wonderfully rich and diverse pool of developers, eLearning professionals and all round geeks that populate Atlanta. I am very excited to be a part of Atlanta’s geek population 🙂

On the networking front, I joined the Atlanta chapter of the ASTD, and I hope to get involved in an active role in the future because I’m not cut out to only be a passive drinker at the well of knowledge. Last night I attended an interesting presentation by Jay Lambert (@JayLambert on Twitter), who talked about design considerations for eLearning and showed some valuable demonstrations to illustrate his points.

I met a bunch of interesting eLearning Pros, including Sarah Colette who’s blog Confessions of a Budget Trainer, seems to be shaping up nicely.

Incidentally, look out for some cool new news shortly about my involvement as a volunteer Adobe User Group Manager. You might find it interesting, especially if you are in Atlanta 🙂

Lastly, if you happen to be going to Orlando next week for the eLearning Guild’s annual Learning Solutions conference, I’ll be there but only at the beginning of the week for the sister event, the Adobe Learning Summit. If you see me there, give me a nudge, or watch out for my Twitter stream as I do a running commentary of presentations I attend.

Read Full Post »